Just unmarried, no sinister!

enough

My parents, my family, my well-wishers, my friends
Today I want to ensure our love lost ends.

The reason why we have gone apart
Is the hurt caused even though we had each other’s best at heart.

You want me to marry and settle as per convention
To follow norms and all our tradition.

Do not get angry or treat me with pity
Am happy and content and don’t need any sympathy.

I will get married some day
To a man who makes me happy and who’s been worth the wait.

I too have a desire to be with a spouse
Someone to share my life with, my love and even a house.

He will be someone who likes me for who I am
Someone who truly deserves to be my man.

I understand your anxiety, your concern, your fears
Of the time passing by and the forever growing years.

But just because am growing old
Do not thrust any man in my life to behold.

I am your girl who has done you proud
Fought the odds and stood apart from the crowd.

You have always taught me to be capable enough
To not let the world take me for granted or treat me rough.

Even when I falter and my faith in self is put to test
You’ve stood by me and assured me that I should seek only the best.

Today I want to remind you that am still the same girl and not some woman arrogant
Full of dreams  and hopes and not someone who demands more than her entitlement.

Don’t take my hesitance, when meeting these men, as my overconfidence
It’s just that the men, I’ve met, and me, have not found each other to our acceptance.

Am not demanding as everyone has tainted me to be
Am just looking for some connection and a man who can be a companion to me.

Even though, after a decade or more of meeting suitors I’ve not got hitched
It’s nothing that I said or asked but it’s their attention that I missed.

Often I have thought to rid you from the pressures of society
To end your pain by marrying the man you bring to me.

But if the man chooses to not choose me
I pray you believe that it wasn’t meant to be.

It was His will as you say
To hold my life from going astray.

Even to my friends I want to confess
Every word of advice you give me has saved me from mess.

You’ve taken me and everything in my life as your own
For always holding on to me and never let me feel alone.

You know me better than anyone, infact know me inside out
Therefore it amazes me, when my intent to marry, you doubt.

I know my anxiety, my difficult behaviour and nervousness
Each and everytime, whenever there is a new prospect.

You want me to be myself and not worried
Yet you rush my decision and get me hurried.

Don’t label my virtues as my vices
You know, for me, a true heart is all that suffices.

He is not the last man and there will be many
All I ask is for one who is like you all – sweet, candid and funny.

Marriage is the union of two souls, am told
Not any alliance based on compromises untold.

Then give me a fair chance to seek my man
And not bind me by rules, conditions or time span.

Please remember things happen as decreed and as per God’s will
I will get the one who is meant to be, just be patient still.

 
About moodsnmoments

Am a person with ambitions and dreams…though I try to keep a practical approach towards life at all times but in my hearts of heart…am a dreamer… Am just someone who can be described to be made of memories and phrases…someone who lives life in each day and in many phases!!!! Though am a people’s person, I enjoy my own space and often like to get lost in the throes of reading, music and movies. Travel, whether actually being able to do so or even to learn about new places, consumes me. Even in the darkest of hours, when things seem to be going haywire, the little voice within me never ever gives up on hope. A firm believer of ‘ask and you shall get it…but just ask’ is one which keeps me going!!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Just unmarried, no sinister!

  1. Honestly speaking, I have been struggling through all these insecurities and fears of my parents…… Yes !!! Its hard.
    And your poem, Its a medal for all those struggling souls like me and you.

  2. myselfharsh says:

    I got this account started today itself and i guess its my sole good luck that the first thing i read is this poem of yours. It was very refreshing..:)

  3. Nice prose………like it very much but towards the end you bring in the name of God ! We tend to use the name of God in more in vein, than in reverence. Religion has corrupted the thought patterns of modern day life and society, that living itself is made out to be lived in fear, as religion dictates whether peace should exist in a nation or brought down. What is God’s will ? Religion has taught us that it is the will of God that all should find happiness and prosper with riches. If that were the case why does suffering exist on earth among people, why is their poverty, why is their war, why is their famine, why is there so much bitterness, hatred and sorrow among people all over the world. Where is your God when your prose mentions “things happen and decreed as per God’s will” !!!! Is God at our fingertips or does he reign supreme ?

    • your point is valid to a great extent – God is often used in vain than reverence but I believe there is a faith or something of the sorts that is binding, which helps us going. Perhaps I address to it as God and maybe I mean the impeccable timing of destiny – who knows. 🙂
      Thank you for expressing your thoughts and stopping by 🙂 Good luck!

  4. MikeW says:

    Powerful personal verse. Your family worries. All families worry. There is a movie, a sleeper of a movie, maybe you’ve seen it. Check it out if not. It’s called “Crossing Delancey.” Hope you like it, and maybe even review it here on your blog. It touches on this theme very well.

    Your words:

    Marriage is the union of two souls, am told
    Not any alliance based on compromises untold.

    are wise beyond years. And yet, line two is almost always what everyone does, because no one is perfect. Still, shopping around is wise and the wisdom of the length of it only each person being honest with themselves can admit to themselves.

    And, there’s a book you might review here too.

    I would be very interested in your take on it. It is called “Conscious Loving,” by a therapist couple last name of which escapes me. In it, they say that marriages don’t bring out the worst in people, but that the close proximity of love in marriage brings out that which needs healing and change in both persons and so the pain that goes with it is often called ‘irreconcilable differences.” Too many blame marriage instead of realizing that each person is rough yet wearing a soft garment coming into the bond, and that marriage is a tough garment put on that makes each wearer softer to the touch to each other if they’re willing to invest in it.

    • Dear Mike,

      Am touched by your thoughts and the gravity of empathising. This is what writing does to me, it relieves me of my pain and with wise words like yours, lets me see the positive in each situation. You have helped me in ways you may not know, however, I thank you with my heart and soul and reciprocate with best wishes.

      ps: will get a copy of ‘Conscious loving’ by a Gay and Kathlyn Hendricks and will watch the movie too and let you know.

      moodsnmoments

  5. beautifully written!

  6. So true, this is your personal timeline and no one else’s! I think it’s very commendable that you are sticking true to your heart (:

    • thank you for your solidarity. every bit of support counts and makes me grow from it. hope I hang in to my heart’s desire as much as far as possible. wish you well. thanks for stopping by.

  7. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Wow, this is strong: wonderful. Where is it from – was someone forcing you into marriage?

    Love all you say in this. Wish you the best.

    • thank you wordsfallfrommyeyes. it is not about forcing alone. it is about being judged, assessed, tagged and a lot. though I admit that i have some lovely friends and people around me, who always always stand by me.

      I appreciate your thoughts and wish you well.

  8. Samir says:

    Nice one and so true ..m touched !

  9. Beautifully put ….. left me speechless …..

    A journey from sublimation to free expression …. hope it left you feeling lighter

  10. Hi,

    It is my privilege to be nominating you for The WordPress Family Award,

    http://anshu2koolman.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/wordpress-family-award/

    🙂

  11. segmation says:

    Sad that people have to ask you if you are married. I feel sad for them. Thanks for sharing your point of view and I hope you have an awesome and colorful day!

  12. mollytopia says:

    Right? I’m not married either. I say: single is the new married. Carry on lovely lady!

  13. Bunty says:

    mitra, dole paanavle……….

  14. Wow!!! i wish some parents will read this. Speaking your mind and giving good reason why they should allow you to make your own choice and decisions!!! Bravo!! Go girl, Go!!! Patience is the companion of Greatness.

    • thank you Mr.ClintonSpel for understanding the need of parents reading their daughter’s mind and thereafter, realising her needs and desires too.
      Thanks again for lending your thoughts, words and support.

  15. Ruchi S says:

    Nice read, am sure many would relate with it but none could put it so beautifully.

Leave a Reply

